Skip to Content
Dick Law Firm, PLLC Dick Law Firm, PLLC
Call Us Today! 833-774-4487

How long do insurance adjusters have to respond?


How long do insurance adjusters have to respond?

Waiting to hear an insurance claim you filed in Texas?

If so, you might wonder what to do next.

Dick Law Firm understands that navigating alone can be a difficult task.

Learn all about the Texas insurance claims settlement process and how we can help.


Briefly, indeed. Under Texas law, an insurance provider is allowed to file a lawsuit.

Section 542.055 of the Texas Statutes allows an insurer to do the following within 15 days of obtaining a claimant claim.

Recognize receipt of claim;

Start investigating the claim; and

Request relevant documents, declarations, and forms from the complainant to assist the claim's investigation.

The failure of an insurer to acknowledge receiving your claim violates the law. But the legislative specifications don't stop there. An insurer must also inform you of the approval of your request.

In most cases, section 542.056 of the Texas Legislation specifies that an insurer must inform an applicant of approving or denying a claim within 15 days of receiving all products, statements, and forms needed to examine the claim.

An insurer may often extend this to 45 days, but they need a sufficient basis to do so.

If the insurer denies the application, they must also include the reasons for the denial.

Knowing your rights is critical. If an insurance provider has unreasonably denied your claim or refused to respond within the reasonable timeline, you will need to take action. An accomplished lawyer will help fight for you.


You cannot shorten the legislative timeframe in which insurance firms operate. However, there are always things you can do to speed up arguments. Because an insurer usually has 15 days to examine the claim from the date you obtain the requested details, submitting these things as soon as possible would help you.

Try to compile as many details as possible for the insurance provider following an accident. Witness accounts, injury reports, and proof of failure forms will help speed up the process.


If an insurer notifies you of paying a claim or part of a request, they must do so within a specific period. Under Texas rule, they cannot postpone payment.

Section 542.057 of the Texas Statutes specifies that an insurer must usually pay the approved claim "not later than the fifth business day after the date of notification." Indeed, if an insurer fails to do so, you might be entitled to reimbursement.


If you're dealing with an insurance provider that has delayed responding or paying your claim, you can like there's nothing you can do. That's not the case, however. Know you have rights, and you can take measures.

Don't let an insurance provider prolong the claims process. A lawyer will help defend your interests and advocate for you. Contact today's Dick Law Firm team for a free consultation to see if we can support you.

keywords: What do do if you disagree with insurance adjuster, how to challenge homeowners insurance denial, how to contest home insurance claim denial, how to deal with homeowner insurance adjuster, how to dispute claim denial, how to file a claim with home insurance, which will help you when you file a claim for home insurance, how much does insurance go up if you make a claim?, how to negotiate with home insurance adjuster, is there a time limit to file an insurance claim